Zucchini Jam

I have always enjoyed having a large garden and then doing a lot of home canning at harvest time. In recent years with my kids all off on their own I just don’t use as many home canned items as in the past so my gardens have shrunk in size. I do always have to grow a few items though. One of the items I cut way back on this year was zucchini, but due to great growing weather I still had a bumper crop. If you’ve ever grown zucchini you know even one plant can produce more than can even be given away – you know they really don’t want any more when your friends won’t answer their doors when they see you coming with zucchini in your arms!

But, since I hate to see any go to waste I was forced to dig out my old recipe for zucchini jam. Don’t know why I haven’t made any recently as this is a great recipe and makes absolutely delicious jam. This is an orange-colored jam. If you don’t care for apricot or pineapple flavors this probably won’t be for you but if you like either this is something you really should try!

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups zucchini, peeled and grated
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 package Sure-Jell or other brand
  • 5 cups sugar 1 13oz can crushed pineapple
  • 6oz package apricot-flavored gelatin

Directions:

Boil the zucchini and water until soft. Add Sure-Jell and bring to a hard boil. Add sugar and pineapple. Boil 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Add apricot gelatin. Stir well. Pack in sterilized jars and seal. I seal my jars with melted paraffin but you can also seal them by placing in a hot water bath for about 5 minutes. Directions for using a hot water bath are included in the Sure-Jell package.

You can use the Sure-Jell light by using only 3 1/2 cups of sugar.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

